Protecting public health through regulation of licensees and registrants.

Pharmacy Technicians

For Renewals Please Visit the Renewal Page - Do Not use the Forms on this page for Renewals

Technician-In-Training Registration

Eligible to apply if employed in a pharmacy but not certified by one of the approved national certification boards;

  • Must be fingerprinted
  • Registration expires June 30th each year
  • Only renewable two times
  • Registration approval emails will be sent both to the applicant and the PIC of the associated pharamcy.

Pharmacy Technician in Training Registration

Technician-In-Training Waiver

The Executive Director of the Idaho State Board of Pharmacy has authority to approve waivers under two conditions;

  • The applicant is at least 16 years old and is enrolled in a school supervised program or,
  • The applicant is at least 16 years old and is the child of the pharmacy owner

Please note, this age and education waiver is for high school students; it is not meant for adults who have not earned a high school education or equivilant.

Request a waiver

Certified Technician Registration

Pharmacy Technicians currently;

  • Registered with the Board and/or
  • Certified by one of the approved certification boards
  • Must be fingerprinted
  • Registration expires June 30th each year
  • Registration approval emails will be sent to the email address provided by the applicant.

Certified Pharmacy Technician Registration

Approved National Certification Boards

Idaho requires (Certified) Pharmacy Technicians to be certified by either:

This does not apply to (Grandfathered) Pharmacy Technicians that were registered with the Board prior to July 1, 2009 and have stayed with the same employer since that time; nor to Pharmacy Technicians-in-Training who may be registered without being nationally certified for up to two (2) renewals.

1199 W Shoreline Lane, Suite 303
Boise, ID 83702-9103
Phone 208-334-2356
Fax 208-334-3536
Map to our office

Hot Topic: PTCB to phase in Certification Program changes


Email questions to our licensing team at or call 208-334-2356.


Q: Why do all new and reinstating Pharmacists, Pharmacy Technicians and Pharmacy Students have to be fingerprinted?
A: Fingerprint/Background checks became effective July 1, 2010. See Idaho Code for more information.

Want to pay with a debit or credit card?

Credit Card Transmittal Form

Work Location Changes

All technicians are required to report work location changes. They must also post a copy of of their registration at each employment location and carry the wallet size copy of their registration with them.

Employment Change Form

Fingerprint Card Options

Option 1 - By Mail: Send an email to , to have a Fingerprint Packet mailed to the applicant. Include the full address with a full name, mailing address, and application type.

Option 2 - Walk-In: Contact local law enforcement agency, or fingerprinting company. If the agency/company does fingerprint services, they may also have fingerprint cards available.

Option 3 - Print Blank Fingerprint card: Use this link to print a copy of a fingerprint card

All applicants, no matter what option chosen above must do the following;

  • Print and complete the Non-Criminal Justice Privacy Statement form, to include with the application.
  • Mail completed fingerprint card & application to our office. Scanned or faxed copies are never accepted.

For your reference, the following forms are included in the Fingerprint Packet in addition to the actual fingerprint card.

Non-Criminal Justice Applicant Privacy Statement

Fingerprint Processing Instructions

Fingerprint Card Instructions

Get your FBI Record Brochure

PDF Reader

You will need the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader to access our forms. Before printing the PDF documents, make sure you have checked 'print as image' in your Print Dialog Box, then print.

Download Adobe Reader